top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Jumping in Head First

Updated: Jan 21, 2018

Here it is! My first, solo planned date night in.


I wasn't sure where to start, so I did a quick internet search for National Holidays- in case you didn't know, every day is some sort of "holiday." And I discovered International Cheese Lovers Day was coming up very soon (January 20)! Immediately I had my first idea.


Step One: Not sure if I did this in the right order, but this is what I did. First I downloaded the TextArt app on my phone's app store and created this fabulous and oh so creative text invitation inviting my husband to our next date night:


I know, super perfect the date I planned, right?


Step Two: Figure out a plan! I went to the trusty ol' Pinterest for some ideas. I came up with a rough itinerary for our night full of plenty of cheesy activities. My list looked like this:

-Get to know you questions

-Charcuterie

-Make cheese

-Cheesy love songs playlist


For the get to know you questions I turned to Pinterest to find a plethora of questions for couples to ask each other. I picked this blog.


For the Cheesy love songs playlist I recruited my husband, as he is way more tech savvy and I don't even know where Spotify is on the internet.


For making cheese, once again another Pinterest search. Did you know Pinterest has many links to all sorts of amazing cheese making recipes?! Unfortunately I don't know where you get rennet or half of the other ingredients for more complicated cheeses, and only gave myself a few days to plan, so almost every recipe I found was not possible for our date. I did manage to find one on this incredible doomsday prepping blog that only required very basic ingredients: http://tacticalintelligence.net/blog/how-to-make-cheese-from-powdered-milk.htm


Step Three: Time to shop!



My shopping list included the following:

  • powdered milk

  • vinegar

  • cheese cloth- I actually couldn't find the cheese cloth at first (surprise, it's in the craft supplies) but I found a clearance stuffing bag from thanksgiving for $0.89! Guess what, it's made out of the same stuff, but was $6.00 cheaper!

  • gourmet cheese- turns out Meijer was having a sale in their cheese department and if I bought $10.00 worth of gourmet cheese, I got $3.00 off instantly. More about my charcuterie down later in the post.

  • dairy pills- because, as it turns out, my husband is actually lactose intolerant or something and can't really eat a lot of cheese (I know, I am such a thoughtful wife!).

  • wine (I don't think this needs an explanation)


Here are my cheese making supplies:



Stay tuned- results coming soon!


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page